Overall Rating

4.2

17 Reviews

Rating Distribution

5

star

(8)

4

star

(5)

3

star

(4)

2

star

1

star

Satisfaction Score

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

filter

Filters

Great estimation software, nightmare customer service
Pros

I found WinEst to be one of the most flexible estimation solutions on the market. With the ability to customize the labor rates, which cater to different client needs, and to be able to lay out a shift plan for custom crews, it has sped up our estimations. What I appreciate is that it has a very simple UI which displays all the information dynamically and lets you allocate the markups easily. It has a handy catalog of items with up-to-date prices, which is helpful. They present it neatly in the form of a tree that makes your estimates easier as you proceed further.

Cons

Unfortunately, WinEst has the worst customer support. They offer a support plan, but for some reason you dont happen to own it, they will downright refuse to offer any kind of help. Whats even worse is that the support plan is overpriced. I dont feel comfortable paying to fix a problem that shouldnt be happening in the first place.

Ease of use

6

Value for money

8

Customer Support

7

Functionality

7

Adam

Construction, 51-200 employees employees

November 2022

WinEx is a must-have for the construction industry.
Pros

The way it has several options for establishing the required quantities is excellent. And I cant stop praising how well-designed its 3-D Viewer is. It also allows me to print graphic forms of the estimate to submit with my bid proposal. They adapt to your manner of bidding, and the technical support is excellent.

Cons

It still doesnt have a robust remote access system. A license fob is required in order to work from home or any other device.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

9

Customer Support

10

Functionality

9

Dalton Smith

Construction, 51-200 employees employees

August 2022

Made my job 10 times easier
Pros

I use it for dirt estimating and found it to be very user friendly, having correct navigational tools, and use of colors and shades.

Cons

It is easy to work with but I would like some more video tutorials.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

7

Functionality

8

Steve S.

Construction, 10-49 employees

July 2022

Easy to learn, accurate and time saving
Pros

Technical assistance is by far the best I have ever seen. Using it for a couple of years I would highly recommend this to anyone working in construction.

Cons

It will cost you but if you can manage the expense, it is well worth the investment.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

9

Brad W.

Construction, 10-49 employees

July 2022

Wonderful product with much needed great support
Pros

It allows plenty of flexibility in that we can create custom labor rates table for accurate estimations.

Cons

Not anyone can understand how to work on this software. Thankfully, their excellent training team made sure our operator gets trained.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

Carl H.

Construction, 50-99 employees

July 2022

Great product with no regrets
Pros

I have always been a field guy only recently switching to estimating world and found WinEx to be the easiest program to learn. Outstanding technical support!

Cons

You will be needing a key to run the program and if you want to run it at another location the price for the second key is a bit too high.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

9

Kirby R.

Construction, 10-49 employees

July 2022

Good software if you often do repeat projects
Pros

It allows us to create and edit custom databases and save them for later. Whenever a similar project comes up, half of our work is already done. Time saved!

Cons

Visualization tools are not up to the mark. We had to use separate software for that.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

10

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Elena B.

Construction, 10-49 employees

July 2022

A loyal user
Pros

Its been about three years my company has been using this software and so far it is the best software for generating accurate reports.

Cons

It needs to allow us to import 3D CAD surfaces as that is something our line of work needs a lot.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Andrew W.

Construction, 10-49 employees

July 2022

Very versatile software, but average at reporting
Pros

Great customer support. And markup feature is the best, it helps you manage any taxes you might need to account for, or any escalation in prices.

Cons

Crew tables cannot be imported or exported. Auto line numbering is frustrating, doesnt let you manually re-number them if you have added a new line.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

Jeffry L.

Utilities, 10-49 employees

June 2022

Great software
Pros

They have a good track record when it comes to updates. The team is very focused on your individual experience and do try to add your requested features in a future update as soon as possible.

Cons

Summary report layout is cluttered and not very useful if you ask me.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

9

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Maicey D.

Construction, 10-49 employees

June 2022

Powerful and easy to use
Pros

A very dynamic and simple interface. At one point, the catalogue tree actually helped me add an item which I was going to miss during the bidding process.

Cons

They have a great customer support, but only when you buy a customer support plan additionally.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

9

Customer Support

7

Functionality

9

Zachary O.

Construction, 10-49 employees

June 2022

Overall great experience
Pros

We have landed so many jobs using WinEx we have lost count. Our mistakes have been minimal and profits have skyrocketed!

Cons

Time zone of WinExs main office is different from us. Difficult to get timely complaint response.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

9

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Travis H.

Construction, 10-49 employees

June 2022

Worth it once you get to learn it well
Pros

You gotta make sure the data you enter is all good and it will provide you with a very thorough and detailed report.

Cons

There is a lack of online resources so whenever you need help with something, you have to ring their customer support.

Ease of use

6

Value for money

6

Customer Support

6

Functionality

6

Matt. C

Construction, 100-499 employees

May 2022

A loyal user
Pros

Its been about three years my company has been using this software and so far it is the best software for generating accurate reports.

Cons

It needs to allow us to import 3D CAD surfaces as that is something our line of work needs a lot.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Andrew W.

Construction, 10-49 employees

May 2022

WinEx Master
Pros

Their support has to be the number one feature, hands down the best when it comes to needing help. The software itself is not hard to learn either.

Cons

The only setback is perhaps the fact that getting info from the software and into the workstream can be improved by a lot.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

7

Michael M.

Construction, 100-499 employees

April 2022

Too many errors
Pros

It has a better feature that is line tracking, graphics arent too bad either.

Cons

It can give too many processing errors sometimes and it can really push back the work speed.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

6

Functionality

8

Melissa K.

Construction, 2-9 employees

April 2022

Awesome!
Pros

For someone as simple as me, this software is amazing. The support system goes out of their way to make sure your job gets done.

Cons

It can be a little hard learning this software on your own, but their customer support is always eager to help!

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Justin W.

Construction, 2-9 employees

March 2022