Epic EMR Software

Epic Software Reviews

92 Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2

92 Reviews

Rating Distribution

5

star

(38)

4

star

(43)

3

star

(8)

2

star

(1)

1

star

(2)

Satisfaction Score

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

filter

Filters

Go-To EMR for our clinics chain
Pros

Subscribing to EpicCare in late 2021 was the best choice we made for our IL chain of clinics, which all work on a centralized EHR system. No service lags or missing features. Complex patient charting and billing are a breeze!

Cons

A bit expensive but totally worth it (we got a good deal recommendation through Software Finder’s reps).

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Rod M.

Mountainwest Clinics, IL, Head Count: 100-115 employees

Apr 05, 2023

Solid choice for OB-GYN centers/clinics
Pros

Epic is the top EHR choice in our book for OB-GYN patient-record taking and interdisciplinary history transfers. It delivers – whether we’re working on an emergency case or regular, out-patient, checkups; completely minimizing the need for manual entries.

Cons

Default plans are expensive; see if you can get a custom pricing arrangement for your practice (saves a TON in monthly charges).

Ease of use

9

Value for money

7

Customer Support

7

Functionality

8

Caroline B. Z.

State Maternity Clinic, OH, 15-19 employees

Feb 28, 2023

The most comprehensive EMR - period; requires a lot in payment.
Pros

If you’ve got a decent budget and an appetite for securing the best EMR on the market, don’t look beyond EpicCare. It covers all the clinical workflow basics/bases and makes room for more!

Cons

The system can be ridiculously expensive, so smaller practices might want to look to other vendors. But if you’re a hospital chain or a specialty clinic that can afford the dollars, go for it.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

9

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

Jeremiah P.

Healthbridges, CA, 15-19 Employees employees

Jan 09, 2023

Best for Hospitals
Pros

I have worked in several hospitals across America since I was a travel nurse. I have seen that most of them use EpicCare EMR and the PM systems. Out of the others I have used so far, I found EpicCare to be the easiest one. Its customizable and charting takes very little effort as well as time. The lab integration is fantastic.

Cons

We should be able to enlarge the readings so that all the information is being accessed and read at the same time on the same page.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

10

Rebekka 

Travel Nurse Across America, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Nov 25, 2022

An Amazing EPIC experience
Pros

EpicCare is complex yet simplistic, but only in the best way. The system offers a wide number of functionalities. The good thing about Epic is that if one user is working on or reviewing a chart, it locks out anyone else from accessing it until that user has left that chart. Duplicating and merging different clients is easily done. The system, as a whole, is very well organized and easy to get acquainted with. Even the downtime procedure seems simple once learned.

Cons

Cannot think of anything I do not like about it. The system works wonders in all its roles for all fields.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

9

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

Jasmine

Providence Medford Medical Center, 10,000+ employees employees

Oct 10, 2022

Outstanding software
Pros

We have used EPIC for years and I can safely say that it has been nothing but a blessing for us. Awesome reporting features along with other features as well.

Cons

It can get tricky sometimes in the start but overall it is great and we would highly recommend it.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

9

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

James W

Practice Supervisor, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Sep 24, 2022

High Quality Product.
Pros

EpicCare EMR software is excellent that one can find. It is of great quality. It is easy to use. For easy charting, there are many quick and easy shortcuts. It can be integrated with systems as well.

Cons

The training and the system itself are quite overwhelming at first. Onsite training would highly be recommended by me.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

8

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

Tim

Grand Rounds, 501-1,000 employees employees

Sep 10, 2022

On-point patient care and order tracking
Pros

I appreciate how flexible the EpicCare EMR is with tons of customization options, both in terms of UI and features. Additionally, it keeps track of your most recent orders, making it simple to reorder. It has easily been a real upgrade from our last EMR/EHR.

Cons

It offers an excellent search feature, but it still needs some improvements. And they update very frequently, which disrupts our normal work routine. They should collect a bunch of features and release a cumulative update package at fixed intervals.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Chris G.

Hospital & Healthcare, 1001-5000 employees employees

Sep 10, 2022

Looking forward to using it for years
Pros

EpicCare EMR has a clean interface with well-designed menus. You can access the complete medical history of your patients with just one click. There are no major glitches or bugs that we came across.

Cons

They should introduce a chat option too in this software.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

9

Customer Support

10

Functionality

8

Sandra

Owensboro Health Regional Hospital, 1000+ employees

Jul 20, 2022

An excellent software
Pros

My experience has been a very positive one. I recommend it to everyone because of its user-friendliness and intuitive design. Very impressive work.

Cons

Not much to say about the cons because it is so user-friendly and we love it.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

8

Customer Support

10

Functionality

8

Ana

Ensemble Health, 1000+ employees

May 17, 2022

It is epic
Pros

I have had a very good experience. The interface is really simple and easier to maneuver. The doctors and administrators of the hospital have had no issues. Their jobs are easier than ever.

Cons

It was very overwhelming at first when we saw all the features.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

9

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Zachary

WVU Medicine, 1000+ employees

May 10, 2022

A great EMR
Pros

EpicCare EMR software is Easy to use and understand. Everything is put together in an organized manner and EpicCare has made our work easier for us as a lot of time is saved by working on this and there is more than a single way to perform different tasks.

Cons

People who already struggle with technology find it super difficult to use and it usually takes more time than expected to load things or requires many clicks to open any required file.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Renee

Medical Practice, 100-499 employees

May 10, 2022

Effective and easy to use
Pros

It is indeed a simple platform with an abundance of customization options and features. The schedule can be organized according to the demographics which makes the workflow speedy. You can create charts in different formats.

Cons

The difference between the doctors and administrators versions of the software is ambiguous.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

9

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Rebecca

Bostons Children Hospital, 1000+ employees

May 07, 2022

Great option for healthcare
Pros

It is very easy to navigate and you can organize the charts into different features. You can decide what you want to keep and discard along with what you want to change.

Cons

There are a few tiny improvements needed here and there and then it would be perfect.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

Wayne

Morning Dew Skin Specialist, 10-49 employees

Apr 08, 2022

It was great when I used it
Pros

It worked well and it was easy to input information. They designed it with the end-user in mind and it had the best interface out of all the software I have seen.

Cons

The learning curve was quite steep.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Ryan

MHC Medical Products, 10-49 employees

Apr 19, 2021

Comprehensive EHR software
Pros

It is great and we have got everyone at the hospital on board. They have integrated all the modules well and continue to upgrade the software.

Cons

The layout changed after the last update and it took a while to get used to

Ease of use

7

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Elizabeth

Cleveland Clinic, 1000+ employees

Apr 14, 2021

Boundless outcomes
Pros

Epic is greatly flexible in its capacity to supply a part of functions to its clients within the healthcare settings. With its modern updates setting up orders for patients has never been simpler.

Cons

Client support isnt exceptionally open to client changes that are asked when it comes to simple tasks that may be made simpler by the input of buttons in certain areas.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Kyle

Medical Assistant, 1000+ employees

Mar 22, 2021

Unlimited Possibilities
Pros

It is a commonly used software so it is easy to work with. It is also easy to search up for patients information.

Cons

It can be annoying at times as the IT team takes a long time to help and the team also makes things more complicated sometimes instead of resolving the issue.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Helen

Pharmaceutical, 1000+ employees

Mar 02, 2021

finest software to medical communication
Pros

All the data is organised and I can easily look for my medical record. Apart from this, I can also book appointments easily.

Cons

The provider doesnt allow me to text those doctors whom I havent seen in a long time. This is a little irritating but other than that it is an amazing software.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Kristen

Performing Arts, 10-49 employees

Feb 26, 2021

Epic is GREAT!!
Pros

This product is really good to work on. I enjoy using this as this is easy to handle and contains a lot of amazing features

Cons

The records are sometimes challenging and it takes a lot of time for the software to provide us the result we are looking for.

Ease of use

6

Value for money

6

Customer Support

8

Functionality

6

Kasey

Hospital and Health Care, 1000+ employees

Feb 26, 2021

Excellent for Healthcare
Pros

As a person who doesnt know much, Epic made charting easy and simple for me. Everything is very well organized and easy to understand.

Cons

None.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

9

Customer Support

9

Functionality

8

Julie M

Registered Nurse, 501-1,000 employees employees

Nov 29, 2020

Good software
Pros

Documentation and charting are the two best parts of this software.

Cons

I wish the software would "talk" to other pages more.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

7

Nikki S

OT, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Nov 19, 2020

Youll get the hang of it
Pros

Integration is so simple and easy. Fixing erroneous orders is easy. Epic has also helped in improving internal communication.

Cons

Since we are not utilizing this software to its fullest, we cant really say anything negative about Epic but it takes a little time to understand it.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

9

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Vanessa M

Laboratory Supervisor, 11-50 employees employees

Nov 03, 2020

Best in the game
Pros

Making payments, scheduling, billing, everything is just so simple with the help of Epic EMR. It is my number one choice.

Cons

Customizing in some areas can be a little tricky.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Noel G

Pediatrician, 2-10 employees employees

Oct 31, 2020

Good software
Pros

I love how I can easily use smart phrases with this software and makes sentences look more appealing. The software allows a high level of customization. Excellent features.

Cons

When there are slight changes in the software, I get very annoying to understand them because the software is too advanced.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

7

Functionality

9

Tanya L

NP, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Oct 29, 2020

very smart software
Pros

it makes my job so much easier by doing half the work.

Cons

It takes some time to build your templates and get used to them.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

Audra

Partners, 10,000+ employees employees

Oct 22, 2020

It is helpful to us
Pros

it is great with billing.

Cons

cant say I dislike anything so far.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

9

Tiffany

Telemed, 201-500 employees employees

Oct 22, 2020

It works ok
Pros

I like that you can get summaries instead of having to search for each specific item for pages and pages.

Cons

Still finding new features I didnt know were available. Not the easiest to learn.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

9

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

Jason R

Physician, 2-10 employees employees

Oct 21, 2020

overall it was great
Pros

the different features are very useful.

Cons

it does not support scanned documents.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

Erin

Contra Costa Pathology Associates, 11-50 employees employees

Sep 23, 2020

A lot of functions and updates are needed
Pros

Yes, it works and I like how much information is available over here.

Cons

The user interface is so bad. It is not simple or intuitive at all. Customer service needs a lot of work.

Ease of use

6

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Loan L

Resident Physician , 10,000+ employees employees

Sep 22, 2020

Efficient and intelligent
Pros

The patient portal is the best feature of EPIC EMR. Lab orders are also great and very useful.

Cons

Sometimes the way its organized is not very logical and can get annoying.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

7

Customer Support

9

Functionality

7

CARL L

Physician, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Sep 15, 2020

Once you get the hang of it; nothing is better!
Pros

This software has a lot of features that many do not have. It creates records that are easier to access for medical providers!

Cons

There are so many features that sometimes you might find yourself confused. While you can create shortcuts its a long process.

Ease of use

7

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Liz

Hospice of Michigan, 5,001-10,000 employees employees

Sep 03, 2020

Works pretty great for us!
Pros

It lets us have multiple users across the organization. They also have a lot of features that a lot of other software does not.

Cons

Shortcuts are very difficult to create!

Ease of use

9

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Liz

Hospice of Michigan, 501-1,000 employees employees

Sep 01, 2020

decent
Pros

lots of functions.

Cons

the learning curve needs to be overcome.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Heather

Carris Health, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Jun 16, 2020

bridged organizational gap
Pros

it is simple and self-explanatory in terms of use.

Cons

charting by exception creates some problems.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

8

Customer Support

7

Functionality

7

Heather

Hospital, 201-500 employees employees

May 20, 2020

Exceptional EMR
Pros

It is known as the best in this field, and I really like it. I would highly recommend getting this EMR. The functionality of this software is great and it extremely easy to use as compared to many other EMRs. It is easy to navigate, has custom functionality, and it can gather input from multiple sources.

Cons

For someone who is new to using computers might find the system overwhelming. If the system is not personalized according to your requirements then it can be a bit overwhelming.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

10

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Ciana

EDH, 201-500 employees employees

Oct 16, 2019

EpicCare
Pros

EpicCare has been in the industry for quite a long time, everyone almost knows about it. It is one of the largest EMR systems in the country Id say. The training is easier, and many in the industry already know about it.

Cons

It often has a few glitches, and we have faced a few interface issues as well.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

7

Functionality

7

Carmen

UHS Inc., 10,000+ employees employees

Oct 15, 2019

EPIC
Pros

“There are already evidences where this seamless record has made a difference.”

Cons

-

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

8

Mike Smith

Lee Memorial Health System, 11-50 employees employees

Sep 30, 2019

Highly Recommend
Pros

We were sold on the fact that how easy it is to navigate the system. The implementation process was smooth though lengthy which was a given because of the size of our facility. EpicCare is a tailored system for the needs of our hospital and it has the functionality to capture information from different sources.

Cons

The system has so many modules and sometimes becomes overwhelming however, we accept the challenge.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

8

Ciana

EDH, 201-500 employees employees

Sep 18, 2019

EPIC
Pros

It is easy to create notes with EPIC. It is easy to part between bill Part A and Part B services, as well as the commercial and Medicaid claims. I like that I can create an action to put the claims in a specific WQ for my review. It is a great software.

Cons

There are times when the updates create other issues in the system.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Lori

State of Oregon, 10,000+ employees employees

Sep 11, 2019

Everything we need
Pros

The system truly has everything we need to run our facility. Since this is a hospital so we naturally deal with inpatient as well as outpatient clients and EpicCare has given us the ease to seamlessly carry out our daily tasks. We all find it really easy to use, sometimes a bit overwhelmed because it has so many modules but nothing we don’t need.

Cons

We had some problems in the past but it was sorted out once we incorporated EpicCare for the whole facility.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

10

Aprielle 

Johns Hopkins Hospital, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Sep 10, 2019

Not for every practice
Pros

I saw a lot of bigger practices and corporations made a switch to EpicCare EMR system. Though I like their customer service and the system overall, but I believe it is more geared towards bigger practices. The system is a customized solution that they provided to us and I am satisfied with it.

Cons

The only problem and some may find it a major one is that it doesn’t offer the ability to transfer all the data from the previous EMR system.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

10

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Heather 

Zumbro Valley, 51-200 employees employees

Sep 10, 2019

Best by far.
Pros

EPIC is an easier approach to healthcare. It would be great if every healthcare facility used EPIC. It is so simple to use. Scanning documents, sending messages to providers within the practice and using the portal, it all is quite easy and fast. I really like this software and consider it the best.

Cons

There isn’t anything bad about this system that I find.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

9

Functionality

9

Nifah

Texas Health Resources, 1,001-5,000 employees employees

Sep 09, 2019

Epic
Pros

The software is great, and it has a lot to offer. It has so many great features and functionalities. The options are robust, and it has the ability to create shortcuts for documentation. Connecting one EMR to another is quite easy with this.

Cons

When you are new, it would definitely be quite overwhelming at first. And trying to find certain features and functions can be quite cumbersome. It has a learning curve.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

8

Customer Support

8

Functionality

10

Joshua

Crossover Health, 501-1,000 employees employees

Sep 02, 2019

Monitoring Patients
Pros

It helps us save a lot of time. We can easily check patients’ status and it also enables us to get the prior test results and medical records that are relevant to patient care. We can access it through our phones. Monitoring our patients is easier with EPIC.

Cons

Not a con, but a suggestion that it would be great if the patient’s delivery summaries and operative reports could directly be populated into our office software.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

9

Stephanie

Mission ObGyn, 11-50 employees employees

Sep 01, 2019

All combined in one
Pros

EpicCare is truly an All in One solution which offers all the software and applications needed for charting and billing. They have a robust billing system that does coding pretty efficiently. It is equipped with the latest ICD 10 codes. We have seen an increase in our revenues since we started using EpicCare PM system.

Cons

It isn’t as user-friendly as we hoped it to be. A lot of the times we need help to perform a certain task on the EMR. Although they have a good customer support system in place, but we’d like not to have a use for it often.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

9

Customer Support

9

Functionality

8

Kevin 

Livongo, 501-1,000 employees employees

Aug 14, 2019

Intuitive system
Pros

It is an advanced system that has given us the ability to interact with other EpicCare EMR systems based in other facilities. Referral history has never been easier for us. We are a teaching hospital and it gives us the ability to run research reports. Its convenient to check out the history of research reports run during a particular session.

Cons

It has a lot of functionality to run multiple reports which sometimes makes it difficult to understand. I hope they make this module user-friendly like the rest of the system.

Ease of use

10

Value for money

8

Customer Support

9

Functionality

10

Michelle

CCHMC, 10,000+ employees employees

Jun 21, 2019

Seamless Integration
Pros

I like the fact that it doesn’t need the help of too many third-party software to function. All of my patient’s data is available in one place which makes it accessing all details and history of visits of them very easy. Also, I like the fact the EpicCare EMR in different institutions can talk to each other. That’s brilliant!

Cons

Updates are too frequent and the downtime it creates sometimes hinders the daily tasks.

Ease of use

9

Value for money

10

Customer Support

10

Functionality

9

Karanda 

Hospital, 10,000+ employees employees

May 15, 2019

Features overload
Pros

I have too many faults for it to list, but there are some definite pros to Epic as well. The best feature of this EMR is the widespread availability of records for patients across the country and across many providers which is really helpful. The usage of records also helped us control our documents and streamline them much more easily.

Cons

There is absolutely no ease of use or functionality in this software. When you are opening a new chart, there is far too much on the screen at once and the clutter on the screen makes using it for the first time difficult for users. I stopped being an active user of EpicCare EMR, but overall, the few weeks that I had training on it prior to launch, I was not a fan and would not recommend it.

Ease of use

4

Value for money

5

Customer Support

4

Functionality

6

Anonymous

WellBeingMD, 2-10 employees employees

Feb 08, 2019

Great system, if used with proper training
Pros

We use Epic EMR for post-surgery patients, their care and overall records. With this system, placing an order, making changes and setting up customized pages for requesting labs, making notes, and additions is extremely easy. You can set up the main page to look like whatever you want and add links or tabs you need regularly.

Cons

A very extensive learning time period required. Even after taking training courses, it takes a considerable amount of time to learn to navigate the system. One hopes for customer service to help them with the customization of the home page and other personalization.

Ease of use

8

Value for money

7

Customer Support

8

Functionality

7

LARRY

Athens Bone and Joint, 201-500 employees employees

Feb 07, 2019